homemade brownies.

Morning naps had come and gone, stickers were covering my television and doors, and both babies were ready to roll.  No, literally.  They have begun to tumble, roll, pummel, and push each other.  Does anyone have any advice with this? Haha!

Maybe a trip to the park would have been just what the doctor ordered, but my orange clove candle was smelling way too good to blow out, and my makeup was not on (don’t judge).  I needed intervention.

1027141212

chocolate.

Upon investigation I realized I had cocoa powder in the cabinet, some flour, sugar, ya know, the basics.  I turned to the babies and exclaimed… “You wanna bake with mommy? How does a good batch of brownies sound to you?”

Excitement immediately filled their faces, especially Kinsley’s as she realized she could help mommy in the kitchen (one of her favorite things to do).  I tied an over-sized apron around her little frame, and put Elijah on my hip.  We got to work.

1108141024a

Who knew homemade brownies were so easy to make?  They are now my “go to” for any baked good need!

IMG_20141108_103059

I melted 1/2 cup of butter over medium heat.  Once that was melted I added 1 cup of sugar and stirred until it was somewhat dissolved.  I took it off the heat and let it cool for a few minutes.  I then added 1 tsp. of vanilla, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder, 1/2 cup of flour, 1/4 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda.  Kinsley then stirred, and stirred, and stirred some more until it was combined.  This process of stirring might have taken about 15 minutes (score!).  We then poured it into a greased 8-inch square pan and baked at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.

1024141605

So next time you find yourself with stickers on your doors and no makeup on, consider making a batch of brownies!

Leave a Reply

