gazpacho.

One of my favorite things about summer is the vine ripened perfection of tomatoes.  Just this week my neighbor across the street brought over a bag full of homegrown goodness for our family to enjoy.  The tomato is undoubtedly one of God’s greatest gifts to men.  So, in ode to my favorite summertime “fruit” I decided to make one of my favorite soups… gazpacho!

There are many varieties of this rustic Andalusian dish.  Growing up my mom and I would often frequent the cafe “Shulers” down the street from our house in Michigan and order gazpacho blancho.  I was hooked from the first bite!  That particular gazpacho was cream based… delish!

This week I decided to make a tomato based gazpacho, although the basic composition is the same… chilled, acidic, rich.  

This dish cost less than $9.00 to make, and yielded approximately 8 cups of soup.  I’d say that is pretty good!  I used a basic recipe from allrecipes.com.

DSC_0817[1]

I simply combined into my food processor:

4 cups organic tomato juice

1 onion, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 cucumber, chopped

2 cups diced tomato

2 green onions, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

3 tablespoons lemon juice

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1 tsp. dried tarragon

1 tsp. dried basil

1/4 chopped fresh parsley

1 tsp. sugar (I omitted this)

salt and pepper to taste

DSC_0824[1]

I pulsed the mixture until the components were roughly chopped into little beads of vegetable goodness (choose your chunkiness).

 DSC_0829[1]

There is just something about this soup that cools you to your core…

DSC_0830[1]

I poured my gazpacho creation into a big, lidded Portuguese painted pot and chilled it for about an hour before serving.  Days later the pot is still in my refrigerator, and the soup is tastier than the day I made it!

DSC_0837[1]

10477376_10100902440578892_3189577739966499035_n

Leave a Reply

