paleo berry waffles.

This morning my husband had one request… waffles.

Now I have to admit, I was not crazy about the idea of making waffles.  Paleo waffles require the patience of Job to make, and end up tasting like cardboard anyway.  So naturally I told Adam… “I’d love to make you some waffles!”

My only pre-requisite was that he had to provide the recipe so that I was not at all responsible for the way these things would taste!

Image

He linked me with a waffle recipe on PaleoOMG… So I got crackin’!

I ground up some almonds and unsweetend coconut flakes for my flours… two eggs, coconut milk, sea salt, cinnamon, baking soda, raw honey.  Not much to them at all!!  Here’s the link to the recipe:

http://paleomg.com/almond-flour-coconut-waffles/

Image

Image

The waffles were absolutely fabulous!! I did decide to make a berry compote for my topping!

I combined:

1 cup frozen mixed berries

1/4 cup water

1 tbsp. honey

I brought the ingredients to a boil over high heat.  Once the berries began to boil I cut the heat and added 1/2 tsp. Vietnamese cinnamon.  I then stirred and smushed the berry compote and drizzled it over the waffles!

Image

Image

I feel totally rejuvinated! Is that even possible after a big plate of waffles?  Many thanks go out to PaleoOMG!  Now onto the grocery store… time to get my Easter cooking on!

 

Image

Leave a Reply

