paleo spiced lara balls.

By Sunday my stomach is bloated, and I feel toxic.  It happens every week for me.  Could it be the Cracker Barrel run after church?  Or perhaps just a week of increasingly poor food choices that have accumulated in my cells?  By Sunday I am always ready to make Monday count.

Image

This week for us was hectic.  And when my family is hectic, we resort to frozen pizzas, caffeine hits at the Starbucks down the street, beer… ya know.

Today I was honestly fed up with the way I was feeling.  Run down, haggard, sore.  When I had to unbutton the top button of my blue jeans I said… “That’s it!!” Something has got to change this week.

I decided to prep majorly for the coming week.  I cooked dish after dish… snack after snack.  Literally, I was a mad woman.

Image

I happen to love Lara bars… the only problem is their sheer cost.  So I recreated them today in my own kitchen! My fridge is now fully loaded with guilt-free snacks that will fuel and rejuvenate my body throughout the week!

In my Vitamix (or food processor) I simply combined:

1 cup dates

1/2 cup raisins

3/4 cup raw almonds

1/2 cup walnuts

1 – 2 tsp. Vietnamese cinnamon

I turned the dough out onto parchment paper and formed it into 2 inch balls.  Into the fridge they went!  Easy as pie!

Leave a Reply

