paleo almond joy trail mix.

I don’t know about you, but I think bagged “all natural” trail mixes from Whole Foods, Publix, and Native Sun are a bit overrated and overpriced.  Not to mention… they are kinda stale.

I say any remedy to major supermaket disappointment is to try “improving” them at home.  With a little bit of creativity and time anything you make can taste better…

This afternoon I wanted something crunchy, sweet, and soulful to munch on.  Not only that, but my beautiful sis-in-law, Abigail, is coming over tonight to watch the babes and I wanted to leave her a treat!

I threw together everything that inspired me in a big white bowl… namely chocolate, raisins, chocolate, coconut, chocolate, nuts, and more chocolate.

Image

I toasted 1/2 cup of coconut flakes by spreading them out thinly on a baking sheet and broiling them for a few minutes.Easy peasy and makes all the difference in the world.

Image

Image

 

I let them cool.  I then broiled and toasted 1/2 cup pecans for a few minutes and let them cool.

Image

I added to that 3/4 cup of dark chocolate chips, 1 cup raw almonds, 3/4 cup raisins, and a few chocolate covered almonds!!

Image

Instant paleo crunchy goodness!  Kinsley was crazy about her snack, and Elijah was just happy:)

Image

Image

We’re ready to take on a trail!! If only we had one to traverse… oh well… a stroll around our cul-de-sac will have to do!:)

Leave a Reply

