little india.

Adam and I fell in love over Indian food.

When we first began dating he knew I loved the exotic flavors of saag paneer, butter chicken, tikka masala, naan, and cilantro chutney…  So he found countless groupons and dated me at the local “Flavors of India” restaurant.

Image

He has since adopted a love for Indian cuisine, and is wild for my curry chicken recipe.  I have to admit, I don’t know how to cook Indian food, but one day while I was preggo with Kinsley I had this incredible, unsatiable craving for curried chicken.  I grabbed what I had in the pantry, threw it together, and it worked.  And worked well… So I thought I’d share!

Image

 

You will need:

2-3 Tbsp. olive oil

1 onion, diced

2-3 lbs. chicken breast, cubed

2 cans full fat coconut milk

3-5 Tbsp. curry

1 can drained pineapple

1 diced red bell pepper

1/2 cup frozen peas

Salt and pepper to taste

*Heat the olive oil over medium high heat.  Add onion and cubed chicken.  Cook thoroughly.  Add coconut milk, curry, pineapple, red pepper, peas, salt and pepper.  Feel free to add as much or as little curry as you like!  Reduce heat to  low and simmer for 45 minutes to an hour.

In the meantime prepare two cups of basmati rice as directed on the bag (this is the easiest and fastest of the rice family, it takes 15 minutes).

To serve, ladle the curried chicken over the rice…

Image

 

I served this recipe at 9:00 PM on a weeknight a few weeks ago… Needless to say, Elijah was already asleep, and Kinsley was well past her 8:00 bedtime…

You will have lots of leftovers.  The next day for lunch I took the remainder of the dish (rice included) and made a chicken soup by adding 1 cup of diced carrots, 1 cup of diced celery, and 3 cups of chicken broth and boiled it! Yummo!

Image

Leave a Reply

