paleo italian meatballs.

I am a self proclaimed Italian.

As newly weds Adam and I traversed the ancient streets of Venice and Florence on our honeymoon.  Lost and in love we stumbled upon the quaintest local restaurants, cafes, and vendors off the beaten tourist path.

Image

I was changed in a way that I still can’t put to words. I saw beauty, tasted heaven, and smelled the fragrant perfumed air that is Italy.

Since those days I have sought to re-create Italy in our home!  Many of my dishes are served on Vietri porcelain, wine is a constant at dinner time (when I’m not pregnant), and an Italian dish is on the menu at least once very week or two.

As a proficient paleo adherent many of my recipes have been altered to accommodate dietary needs.  Here’s a take on an old classic… Italian meatballs!

Combine:

1 lb. grassfed beef

1 egg

2-3 tbsp. “grated” onion

1 1/2 tbsp. coconut flour

1 tsp. sea salt

2 tsp. Italian seasoning

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

Image

Form the meat mixture into meatballs 2 inches in diameter.

Image

Saute your meatballs in 2-3 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil over medium high heat.  Flip every 3 minutes until your meatballs are cooked through (roughly 15 minutes).

Image

Add a can of your favorite spaghetti sauce (I make my own, but love Mario Batali’s brand at Publix).  Saute for an additional 5-10 minutes.

Serve with julienned basil, and enjoy!

Image

My family approved:)

Image

Leave a Reply

