paleo almond chocolate bars

I found it absolutely essential today to make something deceptively delicious.  In the midst of laundry, bottles, and picking up toys (and crumbs), I become abundantly aware of my need for an over-the-top dessert.  Instead of running to Walgreens and “sneaking” myself a bag of Reeses butter cups, I decided to do myself a favor.  I lit some candles, put on my “Coffeehouse” station on DISH, and gave myself complete freedom to “re-create” my favorite lil candies.

This particular recipe was found on a blog called “Fast Paleo.”  The name should indeed give away the fact that these bars are easy as pie to make, and taste absolutely incredible… and I mean incredible!  This is a no bake, no nonsense recipe for the desperate housewives of America who absolutely NEED a chocolate fix.

You will need:

1/2 cup almond butter

1/2 cup melted coconut oil (or clarified grassfed butter)

1 1/4 cup almond flour (I grind my own in my Vitamix, it’s much more cost effective)

1 1/4 cup organic coconut palm sugar (I get mine at Whole Foods)

1 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

2 tbsp. almond butter (for the topping)

Image

Mix together your almond butter, coconut oil, almond flour, and coconut palm sugar in a mixing bowl.

Image

Side note:

If you would like to grind your own almond flour, simply put 1 cup of almonds in your Vitamix or food processor and pulse until they become flour-like in their consistency.

Image

One cup of almonds yields around 1 1/2 cups of almond flour.

Image

Press your mixture into a 9″ Pyrex dish, and chill for 15 minutes in the refrigerator.

Image

While your mixture is chilling, prepare your chocolate topping.

Mix together your chocolate chips and 2 tbsp. almond butter in a microwave-safe dish.

Image

Melt for 20 seconds, stir, melt for another 20 seconds… Repeat this process until you yield a smooth chocolate ganache (paleo style).

Image

Pour this topping evenly over your mixture, and continue to refrigerate for another hour or so.

Slice your chilled dessert into little squares, and devour! Enjoy!

Image

One thought on “paleo almond chocolate bars

Leave a Reply

