stuffed acorn squash.

My feet hit the cold tile floor in the morning, and generally my thought process goes something like this…

“coffee.”

Once I pour myself a steaming hot cup of Kirkland’s Best coffee with coconut creamer, I can finally think straight. My next thought immediately goes to food again…

“what’s for dinner tonight?”

Yes, I am that simple.  I would like to think that I ponder something much deeper and more meaningful, but food, yes food is always on my mind.

I spoke with Adam last night and found myself saying that one of my greatest talents is eating. Yes, eating. I love to eat, and eat well.

So if you’re at all like me and have already thought about dinner options, here’s a great one for ya!

Image

Acorn squash happens to be in season right now, and reasonably priced. I try to eat seasonally. Not only are our bodies made to eat with the seasons, but my price-conscious self is always looking for cheap and fresh produce.  This little beauty packs major flavor, texture, and happens to look fabulous!  So here goes a recipe that’s sure to please even the most discerning palates:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

You will need:

2 acorn squash cut lengthwise

1 tablespoon butter (or coconut oil)

sprinkle of salt

1 1/2 cups of wild rice, cooked

4 oz. goat cheese crumbled

3/4 cup pecans chopped

1/2 cup craisins

1 tsp olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Image

Place squash flesh side up on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. Make sure to scoop out the seeds and stringy flesh attached to the little acorns (I’ve never tried to bake the seeds, but I’m sure they would be yummy with oil and salt).  Brush with melted butter, sprinkle with salt, and roast in the oven for 30 minutes, or until tender.  While the are cooking, prepare your “filling.”

Image

Combine the rice, pecans, goat cheese, craisins, oil, salt, and pepper.  Apportion a fourth of the mixture into each of the acorn halves. Bake for another 5-10 minutes, and dinner is served!!!

Image

This meal goes splendidly with any white wine.  My mother would always say to serve it with a “good” wine… one that doesn’t leave you with a headache! Enjoy! (I like Three Wishes Chardonnay at Whole Foods… $2.99 a bottle)

Leave a Reply

