paleo pumpkin muffins.

I awoke this morning to a thunderstorm, a hungry family, and a strong yearning for pumpkin muffins.  It is September after all! After putting Kinsley down for her morning nap I quickly grabbed my paleo essentials and got to work!

Image

For those of you who haven’t heard of coconut oil cooking spray, well now ya do!! It’s amazing! I get mine at Whole Foods, and it seems to last forever!

Baking paleo tends to take more time, effort, and… money. So when I decide to make a recipe I double the batch, freeze half, and eat the rest throughout the week.  My recipe for paleo pumpkin muffins is a winner, tried and true.  Here it goes….

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

In a bowl, combine the following:

1/2 cup sifted coconut flour (I buy mine at Native Sun, Whole Foods carries it as well)

5 eggs

1 cup pure pumpkin puree (Now’s the time to stock up, it’s cheap and in season)

1/4 cup melted coconut oil (Adam and I keep our coconut oil in a glass jar, and heat the jar when we need “liquid” oil)

1/4 cup raw honey (I just fill the same measuring cup that I used for the coconut oil… it’s already greased so the honey just slips out without a mess)

2 TBSP pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

(If you want a larger batch, just double all the ingredients)

Image

I then spray my muffin tin with my coconut oil cooking spray and fill each muffin 3/4 full with batter.  If you have empty muffin tins, just fill with a splash of water so all the muffins cook evenly.

Image

Pop them in the oven for 15-18 minutes, or until the centers of the muffins are fully cooked… and… voila!

Image

Your house smells simply divine, and you can chow down with the knowledge that you are fueling your body with the right stuff! Enjoy!!!

2 thoughts on “paleo pumpkin muffins.

Leave a Reply

