one!

My girl turned one today!

Image

Image

Can’t believe she was this tiny.

The day really began the moment our sleepy-eyed, toothy, dimpled daughter began chattering in her crib.  8:30 AM.  Adam and I opened her door and serenaded her with the best rendition of “Happy Birthday” we could muster, picked her up, and hugged her incessantly for five minutes!  I am so in love. I could not be more grateful for Kinsley as a daughter, more proud of her clapping, crawling, standing, kissing, pointing, and waving!

Image

My heart was happy, and a bit heavy. How could time have flown by so quickly? Have I missed something? Did I not scrapbook enough, take enough pictures, memorialize each stage of her development?

Then Adam said something that really struck me.

“Just twenty more of these, and she’ll be twenty-one…”

Image

Nana, Kinsley, and cousin Sophie!

WHAT??????????????

Now I know how my mother, and so many other women felt the moment they realized their child was growing up way too quickly. I finally understood.

21038_1170889479189_3794164_n

Speaking of mothers… My mother-in-law and sisters came over today to celebrate our birthday girl (and to help mommy get ready for the party tomorrow).

Image

Yaya and Aunt Alecia

A day full of emotion, smiles, family, and yes… cake!

Image

Aunt Anna and Aunt Abi

Kinsley was over-the-moon to see her Yaya and aunts show up for her special birthday luncheon.

Image

Busy girl!

Image

Snuggles, hugs, laughter, and… sugar cookies!

DSC_0652[1]

Image

Happy Birthday Kinsley! We love you!

Leave a Reply

